Amicus: The Friendly Face of Fear | The untold story of the iconic British film company

Amicus: The Friendly Face of Fear

Amicus – The Friendly Face of Fear tells the complete story of the independent UK film production company’s 20-year creative period, starting with 1950s rock musicals and charting its rise through the two big-screen Dr Who movies, sci-fi favourites (Scream and Scream Again), classic horror anthologies (Tales from the Crypt) and prehistoric fantasies (The Land That Time Forgot).

Back in 2000, the Dark Side Magazine‘s editor Allan Bryce brought out the 163-page paperback, Amicus: The Studio That Dripped Blood, which fetches between £50 and £140.00 on Amazon. But despite it being a collector’s item, it actually left out the true story. This new book sets the record straight by revealing the behind-the-scenes troubles that eventually tore the company apart, leading to a bitter and extended legal battle between the iconic film companies two former partners – Milton Subotsky and Max Rosenberg.

Amicus: The Friendly Face of Fear

Fully illustrated with never-before-published stills, posters, lobby cards, flyers, candid photographs and unused artwork, its something that film fans like myself have been waiting for, for a very long time.

With the new 4k restoration release from Arrow Video of The City of the Dead out now (that atmospheric 1960 horror was produced by Subtosky and Rosenberg produced and led to the creation of Amicus Production), then this well-researched new tome makes for the perfect crypt-side companion.


It’s Trad, Dad! (1962)
Just for Fun (1963)
Dr Terror’s House of Horrors (1965)
Dr Who and the Daleks (1965)
The Skull (1965)
Daleks – Invasion Earth: 2150 AD (1966)
The Psychopath (1966)
The Deadly Bees (1966)
Torture Garden (1967)
Danger Route (1967)
They Came from Beyond Space (1967)
The Terrornauts (1967)
A Touch of Love (1969)
The Mind of Mr Soames (1969)
The House That Dripped Blood (1970)
I, Monster (1971)
What Became of Jack and Jill? (1971)
Asylum (1972)
Tales from the Crypt (1972)
The Vault of Horror (1973)
And Now the Screaming Starts! (1973)
From Beyond the Grave (1974)
Madhouse (1974)
The Beast Must Die (1974)
The Land That Time Forgot (1974)
At the Earth’s Core (1976)
The People That Time Forgot (1977)








About Peter Fuller

Peter Fuller is an award-winning print, radio and television journalist and producer, with over 30 years experience covering film and television, with a special interest in world cinema and popular culture. He is a leading expert on the life and career of Vincent Price and actively promotes the actor's legacy through publications, websites and special events.

Posted on April 27, 2017, in Books, Cult Film News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: